Skip to content

A Lovely, Fulfilling, Uneventful, Single’s Awareness Day

Sorry about that.

One of the top blogging days came, and I just neglected to comment on it.

In all honesty, February 14th was pretty much another day, but when I became bombarded with a whole lot of blogs ‘Singles Awareness Day’ and ‘Exuse to Eat Chocolate Month’, I realize I never got the memo, and thus skipped out on a very potential blog post about candy, hearts, chick flicks, and how much I enjoy being single.

Or, I could have talked about relationships, love, the horror of ’50 Shades’, the cheesiness of ‘Old Fashioned’ (…I’ve not bothered seeing it because…egh.), or how we could all use the day to show love to our friends, neighbors, coworkers, and everyone in between.

Want to know how I spent my Valentine’s?

Homework. A lot.

Uneventful? You could say that.

Lonely? A little.

But not in a bad way.

I spent more time with God that morning, basking in the Word, and finally taking the time to pause for a bit. Because the week had been fast, and my mind was racing with worries and troubles of the world. So I stopped for a moment on a day that happened to be February 14th.

Sometimes I forget how restorative to my soul my time with God is. You would think that it would be my first choice. But no…my flesh turns to other things to restore the soul: Entertainment, food, sleep, music, …even blog writing…not that any of these are bad in of themselves, but if I asked myself the reason for why I’m suddenly indulging in these things a little much, it’s usually because I’m hungry.

But hungry for what?

The past week I’ve been studying the Beatitudes in Matthew 5, and I’ve found this to be such an awesome passage of scripture. I’ll probably share more of my thoughts about what I learned from studying this section of the Sermon on the Mount, but that’s a blog for another time.

In the middle of the beatitudes, Jesus states that: “Those who hunger and thirst for righteousness are blessed, for they will be filled.” Unlike the idols of the world which will never truly satisfy the soul, God promises us that if we thirst for knowledge and hunger for His righteousness, we will be filled. Satisfied. Complete.

He completes me; not a man.

I find this comforting. Because in the end, no person, endless piles of chocolate, or extra-curricular activity can ever satisfy the soul. That would be God’s department. And that’s it. I won’t over-spiritualize this or add to it, because God’s Word is enough. Whether you are living life with your partner-in-crime, or you are navigating the waters alone, keep God your focus, and your fulfillment. Celebrate His love for you and for the world – not just on Valentine’s Day – but every day.

Have a blessed week, and may you find love in the right place.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hi Laura 🙂 I really like what you shared in this writing. That when it all comes down to the core of who we are, as women, nothing satisfies the longing in our hearts the way God does. Absolutely nothing. Thank you for the reminder….

    Like

    March 14, 2015
    • Hi Lorien! Thanks for sharing. Absolutely… It can be difficult to remind yourself of this daily (particularly in a season of singleness), but I’ve seen God be faithful in many things – great and small – in my life. I know He will always be there for you. I hope you were encouraged…have a blessed day!

      Like

      March 16, 2015

Leave a Reply

